Tuesday, March 6, 2012

Mark of the Lion Series

This past February meeting was cancelled because everyone was a little too busy or didn't have enough time to read the book. Just in case you didn't know I wanted to share with you that there are two more books that complete this series. After reading, A Voice in the Wind, you can continue reading in this Mark of the Lion series. All the books are available at the public libraries.

An Echo in the Darkness (2)

Book 2 in the Mark of the Lion series, An Echo in the Darkness picks up where A Voice in the Wind leaves off. A year has passed and Hadassah has donned veils to protect her identity as well as the scars that now mark her body. Believed dead, Hadassah finds employment helping a doctor in the poor section of the city and develops a knack for healing through the power of her faith. When Julia falls ill, Hadassah is forced to confront another difficult decision: should she return to the Valerian household, risking exposure and death, to help her former tormentor in the Christian tradition? The flame between Hadassah and Marcus is ultimately rekindled, though Marcus continues to search for meaning and faith. Turning away from the opulence of Rome, Marcus is led by a whispering voice from the past into a journey that could set him free from the darkness of his soul. Will he find God and spiritual fulfillment, becoming the man Hadassah knows he can be? (from author's website)

As Sure as the Dawn (3)

In this final installment of the Mark of the Lion series, Atretes, the Germanic warrior, returns to play a central role in the story. Hadassah is confined to the cells below the arena and is facing death once again. Marcus, shattered by the loss of Hadassah, goes in search of God, while his sister Julia lies dying of a strange new illness, longing for a forgiveness beyond her reach. Meanwhile, Atretes vows to move heaven and earth to find his son—the baby he thought was dead, and whose life Hadassah has saved—and take him back to Germania. Only one thing stands in his way: Rizpah, a Christian widow who has cared for the baby since his birth. Atretes has not counted on Rizpah’s fiery resistance to having “her son” taken away, nor is he prepared for the woman’s strength and beauty. From their first meeting, the two are caught in a stormy battle of wills. Marcus and Julia and, finally, Atretes, come to realize that God’s love can heal all scars and bring forth a new dawn. (from author's website)

I am currently reading the second book because I really wanted to keep going to see where this story takes us. I have heard so many rave reviews about the series that I don't want to miss out!

I also look forward to reading the March book, The Devil in Pew number 7, and I hope that you do too! Our March meeting will be on March 31st, same time same place. As always, send me in your book suggestions as I barely have time to pre-read books.

Happy reading!

No comments: